The grounds have been a public park since 1888 when the City of Siegen purchased the castle and grounds from the Kingdom of Prussia. Today the park is used for relaxation purposes and for the presentation of cultural events, especially the bandstand. The magnificent flowerbeds are well worth seeing, as is the stock of trees, including some exotic specimens, which the grounds boast. Two vantage points, formerly fortified towers and now known as the “Big Crab” and the “Little Crab” respectively, offer spectacular views over the Hüttental (“Ironworks Valley”) and the suburb of Kaan-Marienborn. At the east end of the park, below the former youth hostel, there is a large playground.
Gesellschaft für Stadtmarketing Siegen
Updated: November 07, 2018