Castle Grounds
The grounds have been a public park since 1888 when the City of Siegen purchased the castle and grounds from the Kingdom of Prussia. Today the park is used for relaxation purposes and for the presentation of cultural events, especially the bandstand. The magnificent flowerbeds are well worth seeing, as is the stock of trees, including some exotic specimens, which the grounds boast. Two vantage points, formerly fortified towers and now known as the “Big Crab” and the “Little Crab” respectively, offer spectacular views over the Hüttental (“Ironworks Valley”) and the suburb of Kaan-Marienborn. At the east end of the park, below the former youth hostel, there is a large playground.
Good to know
Openings
- April bis August
08.00 bis 21.30 Uhr
September und Oktober
08.00 bis 20.00 Uhr
November bis März
08.00 bis 18.00 Uhr Payment methods
- Entrance Free
Directions & Parking facilities
- Parken
Eine begrenze Zahl von gebührenpflichtigen Parkplätzen steht vor der Burgmauer zur Verfügung.
Weitere Parkmöglichkeiten im Parkhaus Rathaus/Markt (Hinterstraße)
Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Bahn: Siegen Hauptbahnhof Author
Gesellschaft für Stadtmarketing Siegen
Organization
Touristikverband Siegen-Wittgenstein e.V.
License (master data)











